Kramerbooks & Afterwords Café

To all of you college kids new(ish) to our Nation’s Capital or to all of you kids who have lived in the Metropolitan area for most of your life, or to just anyone else, I am about to do you a favor. No need to thank me. I will, when I feel so inclined, share with you some of the treasures of Washington DC.

I am going to start with a place that I have loved since I first walked in. My love rekindled when I strolled in there after a visit to the National Cherry Blossom Festival last weekend. This wonder is known as Kramerbooks & Afterwords Café. You walk into Kramerbooks and it is exactly the way a bookstore should feel: small and crammed yet it has every book you could ever think of. It has books you never see at Barnes and Noble like these random Oxford Introduction books on every subject you would ever need to know. There is even greatness found in the classics: there are probably five unique and interesting additions of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. If you are like my lovely suitemate and want to collect as many additions as possible, I suggest you go over to Kramerbooks as soon as possible. I am pretty sure I cannot adequately put into words how brilliant this bookstore is.

There is also a café and bar at Kramers. I unfortunately cannot attest to their quality because I have yet to eat there. And of course I cannot judge the quality of their alcoholic beverages… However I can assure you that it is popular. When you walk around the block and end up behind the indoor/outdoor sitting area, it appeared as though every table was filled. Personally, I am waiting to go over there on a Saturday night and pretend to be a hipster while I listen to their live music.

Any who, if I haven’t convinced you enough, Barack Obama and family have also stopped by.

Really though, if you love bookstores or have that dream of opening your own bookshop one day, check Kramerbooks out. It is an experience.

Location: 1517 Conn. Avenue, NW. – Just Above Dupont Circle

Website (Don’t be discouraged by their sad looking website): http://www.kramers.com/index.html

PS. I have really missed blogging so hopefully I will not go on a hiatus anytime again soon!

 

3 thoughts on “Kramerbooks & Afterwords Café

  1. Congrats on being back on the blogosphere c: Also, thanks for taking us to Kramerbooks, it really was as lovely as you say. Whenever I manage to round up a few bucks I will definitely travel back to Dupont and get me that comic Frankenstein edition!

Leave a Reply

