I Don’t Love Bruno Mars

I wouldn’t call myself a romantic, but I also won’t say I am a pessimist about love. I am a sucker for beautiful weddings and stories of couples reuniting under impossible circumstances. I am pretty sure I will swoon over any guy who writes a song for me. However, one celebrity has done this to a point that seems to resemble desperation. I’m guessing coming off as desperate is not a sure fire way for a guy to get the girl. I’m referring to pop artist Bruno Mars.

Before I get attacked by angry fan girls, Bruno Mars is a talented singer. He is also a talented musician. Mars can play the drums, piano, and guitar. But I’m sorry fans I am getting really sick of his songs. They just sound so hopeless and groveling. There are two songs that specifically come to mind: “Grenade” and “Marry You”, both from the album Doo-Wops & Hooligans.

As many know “Grenade” is about this girl who Mars would do anything for and protect her from the world, yet she doesn’t appreciate him. Here is an excerpt of the lyrics: “To give me all your love is all I ever asked/ ‘Cause what you don’t understand/ Is I’d catch a grenade for ya/ Throw my hand on the blade for ya/ I’d jump in front of a train for ya/ You know I’d do anything for ya/ See I would go through all this pain/ Take a bullet straight through my brain/ Yes I would die for ya, babe/ But you won’t do the same”. Now what I don’t understand about this song mostly is that Bruno Mars realizes that this girl doesn’t love him, yet he is surprised that she won’t die for him. Why would that surprise him? Just get over it. She doesn’t like you and that is it. Bruno Mars, you are not going to change her mind. I’m sorry if she didn’t treat you well, but that’s how some girls are. They suck. Just please move on. “Grenade” appears so desperate for a girl. I assume he wants a girl sympathetic to his pleas, but honestly I just think Mars sounds stupid.

“Marry You,” is not as bad to me, but it is still really weird. Basically in this song, Mars is asking this girl to marry him while they are drunk because it would be fun and nice. Again some lyrics to provide context: “Who cares if we’re trashed/ Got a pocket full of cash we can blow/ Shots of patron/ And it’s on, girl/ Don’t say no, no, no, no/ Just say yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah”. To me this just sounds like a cry for love. I realize that it is not unheard of to get drunk and married (in the lovely city of Las Vegas). I am also not a psychologist, but I am going to say this anyway. When people reveal either through speech or actions something very emotional while drunk they tend to mean it. It’s just like a lot of time when someone says “just kidding” or “I didn’t mean it,” they really did mean it. Anyway, “Marry You” seems like a song in which a desperate pop artist is calling for someone to be his true love. The message is sweet I suppose, but Bruno Mars seems to get too serious too quick.

Rant over. Not that it matters. I don’t really see what the problem is, I’m sure Bruno Mars can get any girl he wants.

Lyrics provided by: www.metrolyrics.com

Leave a Reply

