Entertainment Weekly’s Entertainer of the Year

Let me start of by saying: Entertainment Weekly is my Torah. As it is an inspiration for this blog, I figured I would start off by commenting on their December 16, 2011 issue: 2011 Entertainers of the Year. As you can see on the cover, the always charming (I say this as if I know him..) Daniel Radcliffe was presented with the title. I must say that I am so excited for him and so thrilled by EW’s choice. Dan is not just the Boy Who Lived anymore. He is also a big deal on Broadway.

As an acting student, it has been interesting to see Dan (and the rest of the trio) grow as actors throughout the Harry Potter series. They all have improved and all are great to watch, but I always got the sense that they were being limited in the HP movies. When I saw Radcliffe’s Broadway show a few weeks ago, How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, I was blown away. Admittedly, Radcliffe’s singing was at times nasally, but otherwise his performance was flawless and he nailed the American accent. Also, Dan made such a smart decision by jumping into another character so he could show off his skills. If he didn’t, I imagine it would be like living in the Disney Channel cycle of playing a teenager through your twenties (..if not longer). The moral of this story is, Daniel Radcliffe has talent and he deserves recognition. Go him!

One thought on “Entertainment Weekly’s Entertainer of the Year

Leave a Reply

